Wish #5: Pink hair

(Recycled Monogramed K Cards by Pistachio)

When I was younger, I wanted to have pink hair. In fact, I did. For one Halloween. I dressed up as a punk rocker. It was the 80s.  My mom sprayed my long, dark hair with pink glittery hair dye (obviously non-permanent). It was fun and daring. Later in life, I was again enamoured with pink hair. I was older and had greater autonomy. My mom didn’t like the idea of destroying my lovely hair. She warned me that people might not take me seriously with pink hair. Ugh. The kiss of death. To my mind, there could be nothing worse than not being taken seriously. And so ended my love affair with pink hair. Until now.

(Photo via Flickr)

Pink hair for me represents boldness and daring. It encompasses that dare-to-be-great situation that Lloyd Dobbler talks about in the movie Say Anything. Pink hair is savvy and risky and genius rolled into one. And it doesn’t give a flaming apple pie about your issues with taking it seriously.

In my next year, I wish for pink hair.

4 thoughts on “Wish #5: Pink hair

  1. Pingback: Leap « Prairie Girl by Day

    • Not like Lady Gaga. I ended up getting a streak of pink to clip into my hair. So I can wear it or not, as I like. It worked out perfectly because I am the type to get bored easily with novelties like pink hair. 🙂

  2. Pingback: You have spinach in your teeth – gu.e: what's left out

Leave a Comment