Word // 02

 

N

Isn’t it true that some days are spent wishing for tomorrow? Lately I have been reminded by more than a few people, that this period of time right now will disappear before I know it. These irreplicable hours that become days which become weeks are filled with unique experiences that will never again happen. These messy, sleep-deprived moments blurring together to form a new normal will, at some point, be missed and longed for.

In the words of Mary Jean Irion:

Normal day, let me be aware of the treasure you are.

Let me learn from you, love you, bless you before you depart.

Let me not pass you by in quest of some rare and perfect tomorrow.

Let me hold you while I may, for it may not always be so.

One day I shall dig my nails into the earth, or bury my face in the pillow, or stretch myself taut, or raise my hands to the sky and want, more than all the world, your return.

 

Leave a Comment

