Happy days.

Always be a first rate version of yourself instead of a second-rate version of somebody else. Judy Garland used to say this to her daughter, Liza Minnelli. I’m sure you can imagine why. An iconic mother with an extraordinary repertoire and a doe-eyed daughter with charming musicality could easily be mistaken as one in the same.

I’m no Liza Minnelli but in a manner of speaking, I do know what it is like to have Judy Garland for a mother.  And as similar as I might be in appearance or talent or personality to my own mom, I was never expected to “sing her songs”.

A lot of parents seek to shape their children in their own image. (I’m sure it is very tempting.) But that wasn’t my experience. In fact, the common refrain in my home was to be the best ME that I could be.

It overwhelms me with gratitude and happiness to have a mother who encouraged me to be my own kind of fabulous.

Today is my mom’s birthday – the day the world GETS HAPPY about her life and continued legacy.

To start the celebration, here is a beautiful duet by Judy Garland and Barbra Streisand.

Leave a Comment

