Just want to say…

I just want to say….my life would suck without you. And YOU know who you are.

Ages ago I came across  a really powerful meditation by a contributor to Kris Carr’s book Crazy Sexy Diet that I absolutely love.  Today is THANKSGIVING in Canada and I can’t think of a better day to share it.

Set aside some time, find a comfortable seat, and sit down. Close your eyes and become aware of your breathing, breathing in and breathing out. Silently say the words “Blessings to” as you inhale, and as you exhale say the name of someone you know and love, as it is easier to give a blessing to them. Continue for several minutes, extending your blessings to include your family, friends, etc… You will find that as you say their names, their image will appear to you.

I am not a masterful meditator. It doesn’t come easily to quiet my mind but this “blessings meditation” is actually something I try to practice on my morning commute. Often it is with my eyes wide open looking out the window of the streetcar. I put my ear-buds in, crank up the ocean waves track on my iPhone and say “blessings to” every person I can think of.  I am ever surprised by some of the people who pop into my head. But the first on my list are always my family members (human and canine alike), cherished friends and some remarkable people across the planet who I have never met in person but whose very existence has changed me.

It is true that I love to count my blessings. Yet I think turning my mind away from myself and toward others surprisingly strengthens my sense of belonging.

In addition to being thankful and sending along blessings to others, I am spending the day on several constructive activities. Since statutory holidays do not really apply to entrepreneurs, the Inspired Practice office is open this afternoon so that I can finalize editing of 2 videos, film another and curate content on the building blocks of social ventures.  The other “work”  that is underway is purging, packing, tidying and cleaning. As our closing date approaches, we are excited to celebrate the holiday with preparations for our next adventure.

Happy Thanksgiving to my fellow Canadians and blessings to all.

Leave a Comment

