Autumn Tortilla Pizza

Remember this? I know I almost forgot too. But it is a new season and definitely time to bring back The Great Recipe Experiment. Over the summer, cooking fell by the waste side. There was a lot of dining-out for convenience. In France and New York, that made sense since I was traveling but no longer. It’s fall and that means turning over a new leaf. So I kicked off the month with a restaurant fast. With the exception of one breakfast outing in Fenelon Falls, I have been pretty good about eating in. What I can get better at is being organized so that I have a diversity of ingredients on-hand at all times to keep things interesting.

To inspire myself, I picked up a copy of The Art of Eating In by Cathy Erway from the good ole public library. Check out her blog called Not Eating Out in NY. It’s chock-full of recipes, tips and events (for local New Yorkers). Cathy undertook a 2-year experiment in only cooking. I don’t think that is in the cards for me but I am keen on applying some of the principles and strategies of her experiment to my own.

The Art of Eating In

So first up, a taste of autumn – a super simple, if not somewhat unorthodox, tortilla pizza recipe.

Ingredients

  • 1 Ancient Grains Tortilla
  • 1 tbsp Fontaine Sante traditional hummus
  • 2 organic whole brown mushrooms, chopped
  • 1 tbsp organic green onion, chopped
  • 2/3 cup organic baby kale
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1/2 to 3/4 cup Daiya shredded mozzarella
  • 1/4 organic sweet potato, baked, peeled and sliced
  • Sea salt and pepper, to taste

1. Pre-heat oven to 350F. In a bowl, mix mushrooms, green onion, baby kale with 1 tbsp olive oil. Season with sea salt and pepper to taste.

2. Spread hummus on tortilla. Pile kale mixture on top of tortilla. Sprinkle cheese. Top with chunks of baked sweet potato.

3. Place on baking sheet. Pop in oven for 8 to 10 minutes. Cut into quarters and voila!

 dinner #latergram

THE VERDICT: A total winner! I really liked the lightness of the tortilla. But the best part was how the pizza toppings melt in your mouth. Creamy and savoury. Plus it took me under 20 minutes to prepare and cook this recipe since I had already baked a sweet potato. After such a rousing success, I look forward to trying other toppings and combinations.

Leave a Comment

