Ain’t No Mountain High Enough

“Ain’t No Mountain High Enough” could be my theme song right now. I am probably the only acrophobic prairie girl to successfully climb to the summit of Mount Kilimanjaro. I have never experienced a greater high than I did on August 11, 2009 at 7:15am when the sun rose to meet me at Uhuru Peak (5895m/19,341 ft). No fear of heights, altitude sickness, or frigid temperature was going to keep me from reaching the Roof of Africa. I persisted and reaped the reward. That led to a new love and life goal: to summit a mountain on every continent.

Next up, Mont Blanc! Yep, it’s official.  This July, I have a date with the summit of Europe’s tallest mountain. Although Mont Blanc (4808m/15,774ft) has an actual altitude of approximately 1000 metres less than Mount Kilimanjaro, the icy conditions and many crevasses make it quite challenging. So during the three days prior to the ascent, I will be learning the ropes of mountaineering while getting myself acclimated.

Mont Blanc here I come!

Leave a Comment

