Take to the oars

Can it be possible that we are already in June 2012? It’s been an exhilarating and exhausting 5 months. After a little bit of self-reflection I arrived at the following conclusions:

  1. Turning 30 did not revolutionize me until I realized that I was coasting along in certain areas of my life. Recently, I had been feeling like the shadow of my former self. Then I said it out loud and with that realized that I was clinging to an old idea of myself instead of embracing new (more challenging) realities.
  2. Being a wife, puppy mama, social entrepreneur, sherpa to young innovators, full-time Torontonian (although naturally I miss the Peg) and dedicated citizen has changed me.  I am unequivocally driven.
  3. Asking for what I want is my new favourite thing.  If you don’t ask, you won’t get.
  4. My low-stress attitude to often ridiculously annoying issues has surprised me. I give myself permission to freak-out once a week…but then it’s done. If I have enough time to get upset and complain, then I have enough time to actually do something about it.
  5. Most of the work one does in a lifetime is inevitably “thankless”. It is often efforts that go unnoticed or time that may never be respected. We all do it. And no one is above it.
  6. If the wind will not serve, take to the oars. This is my new mantra.
One thought on “Take to the oars

Leave a Comment

