Tomato Barley

Earlier this year, I found a recipe I had ripped out of the February 2010 issue of Real Simple. It had been sitting on my cookbook stand for weeks – completely forgotten. Again! That is, until I was picking up groceries at Sobey’s and a bag of “pot barley” caught my eye. “Barley!” I thought, “Yes. I should make some of that.”

The dish above is loosely based on this recipe. I say loosely because though I bought the barley, I didn’t have a number of the other ingredients called for. My version included onions, a bit of vegetable stock, fresh tomatoes, fresh oregano, seasoning and pot barley.

The Verdict. Barley is amazing. It has a nice texture much like orzo. This meal was prepped and cooked in about 20 minutes. It is now a welcome addition to my weekly dinner rotation.

Leave a Comment

