Small Indulgences

So it’s March! I’m a little late to arrive. (Such is life!)  I have mixed feelings about February. I made progress on some things but really spun my wheels on others.

I have been working a lot. Weekdays. Weekends. Evenings. My brain is on overload. And I am battling headaches, stress and occasional fatigue. The work itself is mostly rewarding. It is meaty and meaningful  – not like  the fluff that a lot of people spend their days on. That said, there are moments when you realize it doesn’t matter how much fire power (i.e. passion, energy, time and resources) you personally invest to spark another person’s potential, if their hearts aren’t in it, that flame just fizzles out. Since we can only be a superhero to ourselves, I’m happy to be making my way back to the top of my own priority list.

This month I am keen to savour small indulgences that reward hard work and bolster my own ability to rise to all occasions. (And this month, there are some pretty spectacular ones. )

I had a killer headache the other night that I knew was going to really make it difficult to be productive. Before reaching for the tylenol, I grabbed my loofah mitts and dry brushed myself head-to-toe to get my blood rushing to the surface  and release toxins. I followed that up with a scalp massage using essential oils. Within minutes, I felt a hundred times better. It was the most productive 15 minutes all day.

Since December, I have been struggling with my skin and hair. Winter is usually rough on both but since it hasn’t shown up in Toronto, I’m figuring that the cause is likely more related to an internal imbalance. An imbalance that I have helped along by over-doing it. So I am on a cleanse and have successfully made it through 4 days (the first three are always the hardest). And I am overhauling my skincare regimen as part of my small indulgences goal for this month.

Thanks to this blog post, I decided to splurge on Pangea Organics and give them a try.  (Speaking of splurging, I thought this was a much-needed commentary on wants, needs and values.) I purchased these products in person via a local retail source. This is what I am using as part of my “small indulgences” regimen.

  • Pangea Organics Canadian Pine with White Sage Soap Bar
  • Avalon Organics Lavender Facial Cleansing Gel
  • Burt’s Bees Rosewater & Glycerin Toner
  • Pangea Organics Nigerian Ginger, Sweet Lavender & Thyme Facial Cream
  • Pangea Organics French Chamomile w/Sweet Orange & Lavender Hand & Body Lotion
  • Homemade facial scrub (jojoba oil, granulated sugar, bergamot and rosewood essential oils)
  • 100% Whipped Shea Butter

This month I am also indulging in new sources of inspiration such as Marie TV, new favourite edibles like Fontaine Santé 7-Pepper Hummus and new reading like How to Climb Mt Blanc in a Skirt (yep, a new adventure is on the horizon!).

Leave a Comment

