Power Berry Smoothie

This morning I set out to make myself a little smoothie. Since I am trying to not to eat ANY processed sugar for the entire month of February, I have been going through a bit of withdrawal. I have a killer sweet tooth combined with a very health conscious mentality….so you can imagine the dilemma.

As I opened my fridge this morning, I recalled the grapefruits I had purchased with the best of intentions of doing something with them. I have never been a fan of grapefruit. I find it has an extremely tart taste. That said, the health benefits of grapefruit are enough to persuade me to give it another try.

Here is my attempt: the Power Berry Smoothie.

Ingredients

  • 1 banana, peeled and chopped
  • 1 cup grapefruit juice with pulp, freshly squeezed
  • 3/4 cup frozen organic power berry mix (includes dark cherries, blueberries and blackberries)

Combine all ingredients in a blender. Blend until creamy and smooth.

THE VERDICT Amazing! The smoothie is sweet with the familiar tastes of banana and berries. But the grapefruit really gives it a kick. I am a grapefruit convert!

Leave a Comment

