Baguette w/Chickpea Spread & Sweet Tomatoes

This post is two-for-one offering. I created this sandwich as a way to pack in some protein and offer a good excuse to eat baguette. The photos are few and terribly out of focus because I was so hungry and couldn’t be bothered to invest the time and energy into making this look good. Just so you know.

INGREDIENTS

Baguette w/Chickpea Spread & Sweet Tomatoes

  • 1/6th of a small baguette, halved
  • 3/4 cup chickpeas, rinsed and drained
  • 1/2 of a small avocado*
  • 4-6 yellow, cherry or grape tomatoes, halved**
  • 1 1/2 tbsp fresh lemon juice
  • EVOO
  • Black pepper
  • Sea salt
  • Parsley, optional
  1. Add chickpeas, avocado flesh, lemon juice, EVOO, seasonings and 2 tbsp of water into a food processor. Process until you get the consistency of a spread without whole chickpea lumps.
  2. Smear a generous amount of your yummy chickpea spread onto your baguette halves, add your chopped sweet tomatoes, a sprinkle of parsley and voila!

*You could make this spread without the avocado. With a little garlic, it would essentially be hummus. But that is so boring! I like the avocado because it adds an amazing buttery flavour and softens the taste of the chickpea.

**Feel free to chop instead of halve the tomatoes if you feel that it will be too much of a mouthful. I like to leave as much of the tomato in tact for the juice factor.

Baguette w/ Chickpea Spread & Sweet Tomatoes Part II

BONUS: Garlicky Oven Fries

The same night that I had the baguette, I also attempted to make Garlicky Oven Fries as a side. I have no photo evidence because it was a bit of disaster and by the time they were done, Mike and I chowed down and that was the end of them.

ADJUSTMENTS I substituted red potatoes for russet potatoes. Although I appreciate that russet are the more common choice for fries, I find red potatoes 10x more flavourful. If I am going to spend serious cash on a bag of organic potatoes, I should like to use them in a variety of recipes. Make sense?

THE VERDICT I can roast. I can bake. But I do not excel at frying or broiling food. Despite following the recipe, ensuring sufficient greasing and oil, my poor wedges stuck to the baking sheet. Perhaps they were too thin or things got too hot in there. I don’t know.  Too many steps involved for something that turned out just “okay”.

Leave a Comment

