Everyday miracles

I am of the opinion that my life belongs to the whole community and as long as I live,

it is my privilege to do for it what I can.  It is a sort of splendid torch which

I have got hold of for the moment and I want to make it burn as brightly as possible

before handing it on to future generations.

~ George Bernard Shaw

There is something really special about bringing joy to others – especially over the holidays.  Since 2008, my family and I have done this through a community food drive known as the Annual Roncesvalles Village Holiday Food Drive.

Awesome to think that over the last 3 years we have collected more than 10,000 lbs of non-perishable food to donate to Daily Bread Food Bank. More amazing to know that thanks to our residents and neighbours, ours is  the 5th LARGEST community food drive in all of Toronto.

It started out with one little area back in 2008. And since then, we have expanded each year. In December 2010, we dropped Daily Bread food donation bags with our letter of request at over 1500 homes in the area. This year we aim to re-visit those homes in the hope we can collect even more food.

We look forward to this event all year long. It has become a family tradition; a way to connect with one another and our community. Heading into our fourth year, I have come to realize that it doesn’t take a Herculean effort to create everyday miracles.   Cheers to that!

*For more info on the Roncesvalles Community Food Drive, see past media coverage here, here and here.

Leave a Comment

