Party like it’s 1981

I celebrated my 30th birthday this past Sunday over mimosas and french toast. Decadent right? I chose a little tucked away restaurant south of King and Portland called Le Select Bistro for a birthday brunch. We had a lovely spot in the Atelier and a customized menu of goodies to cater to everyone’s tastes. The table was dressed with chrysanthemums and statice flower and monogrammed chocolate Ks from The Chocolateria were at each place setting.

My parents and brother came in to town for the occasion and to celebrate in a way that would set the tone for my 30s. Of course, there were a few other friends and family members who joined in the fun, food and good company.

I am very fortunate to have such a wonderful family (of the warm and fuzzy variety) but special props go to my mamacita. She did after all endure 48 hours of labour to get me into the world. For, as she put it in her birthday toast, I have always been the kind to do things on my own terms.  So true.

It would hardly be a celebration without cake. So we had vegan vanilla cake with ginger frosting from LPK’s Culinary Groove. Amen.

I’m 30. So now what?

Well I am nearly done drafting my reflections on my Thirty by 30 and these are scheduled to roll out over the next 4 weeks – wrapping up by end of 2011. I completed nearly everything on my list and I am so proud of  all that I have done and learned.  Creating a Thirty by 30 list and using that as a guide for the final year of my 20s has given me such a sense of direction and accomplishment.

Thank you to all who shared in my birthday celebration. It was an unforgettable day! And to those who called, emailed, sent text messages and so on from all over the planet, thank you for thinking of me!

One thought on “Party like it’s 1981

Leave a Comment

