#16 Get Certified in CPR

#16 Get Certified in CPR

Yesterday, I spent the day in downtown Toronto with a friend learning all about saving a life. When I set out to create my Thirty by 3o list, I was compelled to identify goals to accomplish that were not only enjoyable but also practical. Several of the goals on my list could be categorized as “life skills” – the skills that you should have no matter what because even if you never have to use them, you won’t regret having learned them.

It was in my late high school years that I took my first First Aid & CPR course. Since that was so long ago, I definitely felt the need for a refresher. If you know what to do, you will feel more confident to take action.  (At least, that is the hope.)

Think about this:

Almost 80 percent of all cardiac arrests occur in homes and public places, and 35 to 55% are witnessed by a family member, co-worker or friend. (via Heart & Stroke Foundation of Canada)

Or consider this:

In most Canadian cities, the average ambulance response time is 8 to 12 minutes; meanwhile, permanent brain damage can occur four-to-six minutes after breathing stops. Knowing what to do in those critical minutes can save a life. Performing CPR triples the survival rate. (via Canadian Health and Lifestyle)

But:

According to a poll commissioned by the Heart and Stroke Foundation, only 40 per cent of Canadians said they would try to revive a person who had suffered cardiac arrest. Most cited a lack of confidence in their skills, fear of failure and fear of catching a disease. (via The Globe and Mail)

Recently, I was at a vet clinic when a woman fainted right in front of me. I didn’t know what was happening exactly but that wasn’t going to stop me from holding my arms out to catch her so that she wouldn’t hit her head on the floor. Thankfully, after a few minutes of getting her into a comfortable position on her back, asking staff to call for medical attention and find some juice to give her, she regained consciousness and was fine. She was breathing throughout the whole time and therefore, CPR wasn’t necessary. I’m glad things turned out that way but I do wonder if that had been me on the floor, would someone come to my rescue?

I really hope so.

#16 is done!

Leave a Comment

