#17 Make Time to “meditate on me”

#17 Make Time to “meditate on me”

Me. Such a tiny word for someone so important n’est ce pas? When I set out to earmark “me” time I didn’t really know what that would look like. And true to form, it looks different every single time.

Last November, for my birthday, I received this great book from my mother-in-law, Jean. This got me started on my “meditate on me” goal. I gradually began adding memories and details about my life – beginning with my infancy and childhood. It has been so much fun to reflect on my life and think about its future. It’s also eye-opening to learn gaps in my knowledge about myself and my family. For example, I realized that I don’t know as much about my grandparents (both those who are living and deceased) as I would like to.

After ringing in the New Year, I challenged myself to better understand what I was really after with my goal. The focus became more on simply dedicated time than a prescriptive activity. What I did during the time I set aside seemed less important than the commitment of the time in the first place. So I set a standing appointment. Every Friday, I committed to getting home by 5pm so that I could spend time on myself. It could be silent or noisy. It could be inside or outside. It could be inner work or just play. I am proud to say that with the exception of times I travel, I have stuck to this standing appointment with myself.

Earlier this year, I signed up for Nurturing Your Creativity/Be Bulletproof Part 2 and have slowly completed different creative tasks to flex my art + poetry muscles.  In the Spring, I invested a ton of time into ME via my own personal yoga challenge. My stress level was non-existent. But then I started to travel for work.  That threw everything out of whack.

I had to become more creative. I booked a massage, went flower shopping, and took a bit more time to do things I enjoy. You know the things that aren’t necessarily PRODUCTIVE. They just are. When I started meditating – consistently – during early mornings, I realized how much of a difference it made in my personal outlook – even if, for the day.   I also realized that 10 minutes can seem like an eternity. It definitely makes you appreciate every second.

One of my favourite ME-time activities has become working my way through  The Spark Kit and Workbook O’Fire.  It is helping me ask the tough questions about the value I place on my time, skills, and experience. At the same time, I am figuring out the key components of my brand. Most importantly, it is offering me clarity to become more fluent in “asking” for what I want.

#17 is done!

(And best of all, I’m looking forward to continuing this little ritual into my next year.)

One thought on “#17 Make Time to “meditate on me”

  1. Meditation is such a powerful practice. It can lead to spiritual, physical and mental benefits. It is amazing how many of us simply don’t meditate because we think it is weird. We should all open our minds and realize this can be one of the most beneficial things we can do for ourselves and it is completely free to do at any time!

    Great post! 🙂

    If you are interested I have some articles regarding meditation in my blogging community I have developed.

    http://www.zazenlife.com

    Check it out if you are interested!

    Cheers! 🙂

Leave a Comment

