Lost + found.

The art of losing isn’t hard to master;
so many things seem filled with the intent to be lost that their loss is no disaster.

Lose something every day. Accept the fluster of lost door keys, the hour badly spent.
The art of losing isn’t hard to master.

Then practice losing farther, losing faster:
places, and names, and where it was you meant to travel. None of these will bring disaster.

I lost my mother’s watch. And look! my last, or next-to-last, of three loved houses went.
The art of losing isn’t hard to master.

I lost two cities, lovely ones. And, vaster, some realms I owned, two rivers, a continent.
I miss them, but it wasn’t a disaster.

–Even losing you (the joking voice, a gesture I love) I shan’t have lied.
It’s evident the art of losing’s not too hard to master though it may look like (Write it!) like disaster.

~ One Art by Elizabeth Bishop

It was a total fluke. Or maybe fate. After holding out for the reappearance of my beloved necklace, I finally confessed to Mike a week or so ago that I had misplaced the Satya jewelry he had given to me during the first few months of our relationship.  He wasn’t terribly concerned but my heart broke a bit. It had nothing to do with what the necklace was worth or the composition of metal and gemstone. It had everything to do with the moment in time it represented. The sentimental value. The symbolism.

Lost…

It was summer 2007. Mike and I were living in separate cities. Visiting each other as often as we could. I was planning this amazing trip to Europe that I later invited him to join me on. I had a few stops on the trip to make before he would join me in Paris about a week or so into the trip.  Of course, before I even took off for London, I had to fly through Toronto. Mike trekked out to Pearson Airport to spend a few hours with me during a short layover. There were floods of people outside of the gate in Terminal 1. All awaiting their loved ones. I waded through the crowd and spotted Mike. Of course, it was a happy reunion. Little love birds that we are.

Photo of the necklace on me while in Montmartre (2007).

He surprised me with a gift. In a small box. I knew it was the Satya necklace I had been eyeing. I opened the box immediately with the biggest smile on my face. It seemed like everyone was watching us as Mike put the necklace on me. They were all smiling too.  Such a lovely moment.

Last night, after a sudden surge of energy and a desire to conquer the clutter in my home (before it conquers me), I began tidying. First, the living room, the foyer, the kitchen, and so on.  Once I started, I was a de-cluttering machine. So I came to sort through the stuff under the sink in the bathroom. Among  the half empty shampoo bottles and loose band aids were a handful of pill bottles. Some empty and some containing prescriptions we took with us to Tanzania in August of 2009. I began emptying them out into the garbage so that I could recycle the bottles. And then there it was. I opened one of the pill bottles and inside was my necklace cushioned by a tissue . I had wrapped my necklace in the tissue (so that the chain wouldn’t get tangled, as it tended to in transit) and stored it in the pill bottle before leaving Tanzania so that it would be secure. It was secure. So much so that not even I could figure out it’s mystery location for over 2 years!

I shrieked. Danced a little dance of joy. Rushed to Khailee (who was the only other living being at home at the time) and gave her a big hug. Danced some more and then called Mike to tell him.

Found!

One thought on “Lost + found.

Leave a Comment

