Half full

I learned a valuable lesson in the art of half-fullness this weekend. And because of that, today (as I intend for all days) is a half-full day. Right now, I have 5 days worth of work to complete and 3.5 days of actual work time within which to accomplish it. I have 30% of my front yard unearthed and weeded and 70% left to do.  I have an ambitious list of personal goals that is my 30 by Thirty and just shy of 6 months to claim victory.

Like everyday, I must work twice as fast and deliberately as most people would like to.  I accept that. But I’m tired of the half empty philosophy that most people walk around spouting. This past weekend as I spent hours undertaking back-breaking work in my front yard, I had no less than a dozen people comment on the status of my gardening work.  Interestingly, over the 3 hour period during which I was weeding a yard with only weeds (with likely 15 years worth of roots), 85% of the comments were of the half-empty variety. “You have your work cut out for you.” “Oh that’s a big job.” They all shared some variation on that theme because they could only see the 70% of the yard left to complete. As the same comment continued to be made, I got a little less friendly and certainly a little less motivated. By the end of the day, I was nearly ready to tell them to go fly a freakin’ kite!

But there were 2 gentlemen, who had seen me start my work early in the afternoon and passed by again just before I was cleaning up. And what did they say? “Great work!” They could see that although it hadn’t been easy to do it, I had accomplished quite a bit over the course of 3 hours. It might have only been a fraction of the yard but their comments helped me realize that this task was not impossible and that I could continue to work at it and eventually weed everything.  Half full. It was 2 out of 12 comments but those 2 comments helped remind me of an important reality. Furthermore, those 2 comments had the power to undo not only the 10 thoughtless and negative comments that came before but also help renew my commitment to finishing this front yard.  Half full.

One thought on “Half full

  1. Pingback: #14 Landscape the front yard « www.kristlect.com

Leave a Comment

