#8 Declutter the Bookcase

Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful or believe to be beautiful. ~ William Morris

#8 Declutter the Bookcase

Ages ago I  confessed that I hoard books. Although I love to have a well-stocked bookcase, it got to a point where I felt weighed down by literary clutter.

So here’s what I did…

Step 1: GATHER

I knew not every book was going to go so I had to come up with a set of basic criteria to identify and gather books to get rid of. I chose books that: a) I hadn’t read, had owned for longer than 2 years and had no real intention of reading them; b) I had read but didn’t enjoy enough to keep; c)  I had read and enjoyed but to which I had no real sentimental attachment, or d) textbooks with little use to my work or life today. In total, I ended up with about 23 books.  Now what?

Step 2: SELL

About 90% of the books in this small collection were in excellent condition and since I am so entrepreneurial, I investigated whether there was a market for them. And there was! I listed my books on Amazon Marketplace and priced them low. I sold what I could on Amazon and took a big batch of books to my local second hand bookstore to see if there was any interest. In total, I got rid of 17 at an average price of $4.50 each. Woot!

Step 3: DONATE

Not all books are created equal. Let’s just say there were a couple of duds that needed to go but have little value to be resold. Even still, one person’s trash is another person’s treasure. I am hopeful that Goodwill can find new homes for them.

#8 is done!

One thought on “#8 Declutter the Bookcase

  1. Pingback: Downsizing My Bookcase « Simple Is Working

Leave a Comment

