Food + film

This week was the busiest short week. I felt as though my holiday was long enough so I was actually ready to embrace my trip back to the real world.  There was lots of running around which was kinda fun. I got to hang out at Dark Horse and David’s Tea. I met with two amazing women from within my professional network including one who was a former boss of mine when I was a bright-eyed, novice environmentalist. (Way back then…)

With such a constant rhythm outside of the house, once back home, I just chilled.

I have been on a bit of a classics binge since finally having seen Gone With the Wind in November. Over the holidays, my Uncle Manny very kindly gave me one of his prized classic movies books. So this week, I got cozy with a pot of Vegetarian Chili w/Sweet Potatoes (recipe below) and two films.

FOR THE FILM BUFFS

#1 The Awful Truth (1937) starring Cary Grant and Irene Dunne (and Mr.Smith). Totally hilarious. I laughed out loud a bunch of times. This was my first introduction to Irene Dunne and I must say, she is beautiful, elegant and super funny. I’d say that’s a winning combination.

#2 A Place in the Sun (1951) starring Liz Taylor, Montgomery Clift (gorgeous man, by the way) and Shelley Winters. This movie wasn’t at all what I had expected. It really takes a dramatic turn and is quite heartbreaking.  (I can’t wait to see From Here to Eternity.)

FOR THE FOODIES

Vegetarian Chili w/ Sweet Potatoes (from Real Simple)

  • *1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 medium red onion, chopped
  • 1 green bell pepper, chopped
  • 4 garlic cloves, chopped
  • 1 tablespoon chili powder
  • 1 tablespoon ground cumin
  • 2 teaspoons unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • Kosher salt and black pepper
  • 1 28-oz can fire-roasted diced tomatoes
  • 1 15.5-oz can black beans, rinsed
  • 1 15.5-oz can kidney beans, rinsed
  • 1 medium sweet potato, peeled and cut into 1/2-inch pieces

*This recipe was actually for a slow cooker but since I don’t have one, I just cooked it on the spot. And added the olive oil.

Combine olive oil, onion, bell pepper, garlic, chili powder, cumin, cocoa, cinnamon, salt and black pepper in a large pot and saute on medium heat for 2 minutes. Add the tomatoes (and their liquid), beans, sweet potato and 2 cups of water. Cover and cook on medium heat until sweet potatoes are tender and the chili has thickened (approximately 20 minutes).

3 thoughts on “Food + film

  1. The oldies are a blast to watch, when my grandma passed on almost 7 years ago she had tons of black and white movies and I took them all…..I watched some of them, never watched Gone with the Wind, but watched Casablanca…I have had to clear out some of the 150 movies in VHS she had for space, I have regretted it since! One of my resolutions for 2011 is to watch them to see what my gran loved about them!

    • That is very cool! You should definitely watch what you have left. It is true what they say: they don’t make movies like this anymore. Let me know of any good titles you watch and I will hunt them down here.

  2. Don’t forget to check out TCM every now and then, check out their website for schedule and find time to enjoy a classic with Mike. Rent Cinema Paradisio (Italian) a great movie for the movie buff. One of my favourites.

Leave a Comment

