Reflect + manifest

Reverb 10 is an annual event and online initiative to reflect on your year and manifest what’s next.

I chose two of the 31 prompts to reflect on 2010, create my vision for 2011 and gear up for my Thirty by 30 adventures.

One Word. Encapsulate the year 2010 in one word. Explain why you’re choosing that word. Now, imagine it’s one year from today, what would you like the word to be that captures 2011 for you?

Although I ended 2009 with the intention that my word for 2010 would be LEAP. In fact, I believe my 2010 word was truly ROOT. (Which if you think about it, is kinda the opposite of LEAP.)

I found myself letting go of lots of stuff that wasn’t quite workin’ for me in 2010. Letting go and by doing that I was really standing my ground. I also got married and although I thought that would be a LEAP, it turns out that once we returned from Quebec in January 2010, so much fell into place. It’s like I was a TREE stringy and bendy swaying in the wind. As a couple we weren’t yet solid. There was lots of upheaval leading up to our wedding. Fuss. Stress. Nonsense. And then we were off to be married and not until we were there, did I get it – truly, get it. I said to myself: “Just be.” I did that.

There is a part of me that wishes my word for 2011 could stay ROOT. I love it. After bouncing around for nearly 2 years – back and forth – back and forth…. It is so nice to sink into the ground. But…now that I am safely transplanted here and able to thrive, it’s time to GROW. 2011 will be a year to GROW.

11 Things. What are 11 things your life doesn’t need in 2011? How will you go about eliminating them? How will getting rid of these 11 things change your life?

1.  Paper clutter: I find it overwhelming and unnecessary. It needs to go!

2.  10 lbs: I have come so far from where I started in January 2009. That’s great but I’m not done yet. I am prepared to put in the effort to make this happen. Thankfully, I’m less daunted by it than I used to be. Hello! I climbed a freakin’ mountain. If I can do that, I can do anything.

3.  Waiting: I’m done with waiting. I wait for the right time or for someone else to join me, etc… to pursue the things I want.

4.  TV: I can live without knowing what happened on Grey’s Anatomy last week and I’d rather use that time to fill my head with new ideas or my body with wicked energy.

5.  Online time: I could use to lose about 50% of the time I spend online and re-invest it in something else. I got in this habit leading up to the wedding but its tantamount to wasted time. My google reader subscriptions will be cut in half.

6.  Unfinished business: I have little traces of things that are unfinished and it’s time to either pull the plug on them altogether or just do it.

7.   Late nights: I have grown to hate being a night owl. I used to love it but the truth is the early birds get more accomplished between 6 and 10am than I do in a whole 12-hour day. I love the quiet of being up early in the morning and getting my work done. Late nights have got to go.

8.   Settling: Ugh. I’m almost ashamed to put this on the list because it means having to admit that I settle. But there it is – the ugly truth. It’s time to be more consistent in asking for what I want.

9.    Dehydration: I must drink more water. It is just that simple.

10.  Money anxiety: I can stretch my dollars far and I am generally responsible with my money but for some reason I am always afraid that I’m gonna run out.  I think if I can let go of that, I can create room for true abundance and wealth.

11.  Being rushed:  Sometimes I’m rushed because I’m running late. Sometimes I feel rushed because either I or someone else creates this sense of urgency that is totally not even there. Rushing is frantic and I see myself more as someone who is comfortably in control.

Leave a Comment

