Grandparents

I bought myself a little goodness the other day at David’s Tea. Vanilla Oolong. In the last 24 hours, it has been a saving grace.  A little cup of happy.

I’m struggling with the emotional roller coaster that comes with receiving sad news about a loved one. I think I have reached my limit this month in terms of family tragedies…. (Arguably, one is already too many.)

There has been lots of talk lately between Mike and I about growing our family but the truth is, I can’t imagine a life in which my children do not have the ongoing presence of their grandparents – in particular, my parents – accessible to them on a day-to-day basis. I know other people have successfully raised their children in one city while members of their family live in another but I don’t know the first thing about how to do that.

My vision stems in part from my own selfishness because I adore my parents. The other part of it is from the perspective of what it was like to grow up in the care of my own grandparents. In particular, my maternal grandmother played such a significant role in my life for all of my childhood. This past Monday, December 27 marked the 15th anniversary of her death. I was one of only two grandchildren who really got to know my grandmother – as the person she was. Beyond the eyes of a child. Several others including my brother were young when she died but still have some memories of her. And still others were barely or not even born by the time she became part of our family’s history.

So as I think of and hope for my great uncle who is currently fighting for his life, I also think of and hope for his grandchildren – that they may always be grateful for his presence in their life.

One thought on “Grandparents

Leave a Comment

