Confessions of a prairie girl

 

Confession #1: I have a secret stash of all my conference/event nametags. I like to see my name in print and can’t bear the thought of leaving behind my personalized signage to get tossed in the recycling bin. Is that strange?

Confession #2: I hate watermelon. If it were the last thing to eat on the planet, I wouldn’t do it. You will never catch me eating a slice of watermelon or for that matter anything watermelon flavoured. A watermelon rind was rudely discarded on our front lawn the other day. It soon became dinner for a host of bugs. Me? I would rather eat the dandelions.

Confession #3: I hoard books. I become easily attracted to books and like to stockpile them. I also like to read more than one book at a time. Oddly, that slows the whole process down considerably.

Confession #4: I would much prefer to live my life naked. If the world were such that I could do this and it would be “normal” just think of how much money, time and energy we would all save on clothing. Not to mention how much happier we would be with our bodies. Babies totally get it. It’s unfortunate that stage of my life didn’t last longer.

Confession #5: I love – in kind of a silly and unjustified way – filling out surveys and questionnaires. I think it’s because I like to be asked for my opinion – even if it is on relatively trivial things like shampoo.

Confession #6: I tie my shoes using the “bunny ear” method. Someone once laughed at me and told me it was weird that after starting with the “bunny ear” method, I had never been taught “the grown-up” way.  I am still trying to figure out why there is a graduated process for tying shoelaces.

Confession #7: I don’t wear antiperspirant. (No, I’m not a hippie.) Aside from a lot of the chemicals and metals in commercial antiperspirants, I always felt weird about something that was designed to alter my body’s internal detox process. I never liked any of the commercial deodorants either. Why would anyone want to walk around with slimy armpits? So now I use this aluminum-free, all-natural deodorant cream. (Rachel of Soapwalla is very cool and makes great products. If instead you want to take a stab at DIY-ing a deodorant cream, check this out.)

3 thoughts on “Confessions of a prairie girl

  1. I knew there was a reason I liked you when we met. I think it’s because we’re pretty much opposite on everything, and you seemed like someone I could learn a lot from. Keep up the creative and inspiring work!

    RE #1: I immediately toss all conference nametags, and I get especially annoyed when a conference doesn’t recycle the little plastic holders.
    RE #2: yummy! The wetter, the better.
    RE #3: I’m a library nut. I used to hoard books. But then I moved. And there’s nothing worse that moving ten boxes of books that haven’t been read in 5 years.
    RE #4: I’m fine with people being “free” but I don’t want to see it.
    RE #5: I’m happy to give advice to a worthwhile cause, but if a shampoo company wants my opinion, they’ve gotta pay me for it.
    RE #6: I never learned the bunny ear method. In daycare, it was straight to the advanced lace tying for me.
    RE #7: This one I agree with, but I’m more likely to try the DIY deodorant than the $$ one.

  2. I have to say that I totally get the book thing….i read almost anything and I have read over 100 novels and how-to books this year! Oh Makenzie…she can read 2 or more books at a time, how? I have no clue, I need a day to clear my head of the characters that I just imagined! But she was reading Harry Potter and Anne of Green Gables and another book from school…..I know that its a family thing!

  3. Pingback: #8 Declutter the Bookcase « Prairie Girl by Day

Leave a Comment

