Why I run

 

(Photo via Women’s Health Magazine)

I was organizing my fitness schedule to better focus my energy and came across this bit of inspiration. That got me thinking about why I run. Well….first, I like it. (Ok maybe that’s obvious.) I run for the endorphins and freedom. To help me better focus when I need it. To let off a little steam when I need it. To escape into my imagination. To efficiently work out muscles in my arms, legs and core – simultaneously.  To embrace me – just as I am – in that moment.  To get my heart pumping and blood circulating from the tips of my fingers to the tips of my toes. To test my limits.

Running (long distance) is a challenge for me and if you had asked me to run when I was a kid, I would have said, “No thanks.” In fact, I recall our annual fitness tests in school and how much I disliked the timed running portion. Again, to clarify, this wasn’t sprinting. That I liked and for some years participated in the 100m and 200m sprints in track and field. But to run 1500m? Oh gross. I hated it. I was certain that my body wasn’t cut out for it. I was always off the charts on the components that tested flexibility, balance and coordination. But coming out of a 1500m run I would be bent over and hacking like an old man. What can I tell you? I was no athlete. (Although to be fair I still played team sports like basketball and volleyball. But I can’t promise that I was any good at them.)

But since then, I have really turned things around. I have claimed running for myself. And I think that goes to show you how much your body and mind can adapt. With the exception of yoga, it is my favourite workout. And I hope to still be running at the age of 43 and beyond.

Hope everyone is having a great St. Patrick’s Day! I’m off for a run followed by an afternoon of productivity.

Leave a Comment

