The weary kind

 

And this ain’t no place for the weary kind. And this ain’t no place to lose your mind. And this ain’t no place to fall behind. Pick up your crazy heart and give it one more try.

Mike and I went to catch Crazy Heart last night. It was delightful. The music was beautiful. I really liked it. We hung out at Indigo for a while afterwards and oohed and ahhed at all of the pretty yet unnecessary things we could buy to fill our house. I spent most of my time cuddling the stuffed bunnies and looking through the baby stuff. There were these great black/white flashcards of jungle and farm animals. I have seen them before and think they are great for infants. But I wondered why they don’t make this stuff for adults – as art – to put up in our bedrooms. I’m sure the flashcards would have the same effect on grown-ups and stimulate our brains too. Hmmm….why do babies get to have all this fun stuff? Anyway, as we were walking around eyeing the merch Mike said: “Yeah, that’s really expensive.” Then he pointed to the 5 ft wide sign with a close-up of an infant on it signifying the “baby” section and said: “That’s expensive too.”  So true.

I have to give a belated shout out to one of the prettiest, smartest and most neurotic creatures on the planet – Lassie. She celebrated her 11th birthday on Saturday. Wow. Where has the time gone? Speaking of which, I have a meeting with a Match Coordinator at Big Brothers Big Sisters today so I’d better get moving. Ta ta!

One thought on “The weary kind

  1. I am totally with you on the kids stuff. But why not break the rules…..
    Let’s make the kid’s stuff our stuff!!
    thanks Kristle!!!

Leave a Comment

