29 + snow dogs

 

We are all back at home now and it’s time for the Great 2010 Clean-Up. I have laundry, dusting, vacuuming, bathroom cleaning, dishwashing and more to get done and I can’t stop there. Everything is getting cleaned TOP to BOTTOM. I want to start the year off without clutter as well so we will be undertaking a whole purging process this afternoon. This is good. (I already started this on the train ride yesterday by cleaning out my INBOX. Whoo hoo!) When you start a new chapter, it is always good to let go of the things you don’t need around anymore to make room for new and exciting things to surface. This is one of my new year’s resolutions along with a number of others. I will share more later this week.

In the meantime, I am catching you up on a special adventure that helped Mike and I kick off the New Year.  Mike turned 29 on December 29, 2009 and it was so important to me to honour his birthday especially amidst the crazy holiday and wedding stuff. Everyone’s birthday is special and distinct. Wedding or no wedding – he was going to have his day! So this year,  I put up his birthday banner, I inventoried the 29 things I love about him (all of them different from last year) and I made him the yummiest dinner I could imagine if I were Mike. It was a bit of a first in our friendship and relationship – I made him roasted potatoes and balsamic marinated chicken. I have never before cooked meat for him but I feel that on your birthday you should get to have everything you want. The results were fantastic. He had a huge appetite for the meal and that made me extremely happy.

The last thing I did was arrange a dog sledding adventure through Aventure Inukshuk to take place in Sainte-Catherine-de-la-Jacques-Cartier about 45 minutes outside of Quebec City. We headed out there on January 2 and it was truly a WINTER WONDERLAND. Here is a sample of the memories we made with the snow dogs.

3 thoughts on “29 + snow dogs

Leave a Comment

