Me and Winnie

Every year for as long as I can remember, my mom and dad have given me a special Christmas ornament. Last and this year have been no exception. This year I unwrapped an extraordinary little piece of personal history – a Winnie the Pooh ornament. Winnie the Pooh was a fixture in my childhood. He was the star of a famous photo taken at Disneyland in 1981 of my mom while pregnant with me. He was reproduced on the wallpaper of my nursery and was the muse for a mural that my dad hand painted on the wall of my childhood bedroom. He was in the stories I had read to me by my parents and later the stories I learned to read on my own. He was everywhere. Even in the name of the city that I called home.  (Which incidentally he was named after.)

Thank you Mom & Dad for a wonderful surprise!

Hope you have a honey-filled Christmas day!

Leave a Comment

