Where Tree Tops Glisten

I couldn’t resist doing one more post for the gift guide (before the one on wrapping). These picks are appropriate for girls who sparkle and glisten.

 

Omni Peace T-Shirt (Cost: $50):  This shirt was designed for Omni Peace – a non-profit organization with a mandate to end poverty by 2025. When purchasing this shirt, 50% percent of the proceeds go to Omni Peace.

Gold Tree Necklace (Cost: $68): This lovely  Tree of Life pendant is the result of Satya Jewelry and Housing Works in NY joining forces. The necklace is a reminder to keep your feet on the ground and keep reaching for the stars. All proceeds benefit homeless and low-income New Yorkers living with HIV/AIDS.

Pacifica Soy Candles (Cost: $14 for set): These are the most luxurious and delicious smelling candles EVER. Made of soy, they burn cleaner than petroleum-based parrafin wax (out of which most candles are made). So you can breathe easy.

Fair Trade Grape Garnet Ring (Cost: $126): It sparkles. Need I say more?

Rainbow Harmony Project Live at 10 CD (Cost: $15): This is a gift that really can make a difference. I didn’t fully understand until I listened to it. Of course, I was moved by my Uncle Manny’s bass vocal solo on True Colours (it is so beautiful) and RHP’s clever rendition of Anything You Can Do, I Can Do Better. But more than that, I realized that there are so many people in this world who cannot risk being who they are and then there are people like those members of Rainbow Harmony Project who have risked more than some of us can ever comprehend to bring joy, comfort and hope to others through song. Order the CD via email.

Hard Heart Purse (Cost: $34): Every gal should have a little black purse for an evening out. This one makes a real statement.

Now by Kal Barteski (Cost: $450): I recently attended Kal Barteski’s I Found Wings art show. I am not exactly a big bird person. Never really have been. But Kal’s rendering of these feathery creatures really made my heart soar.

Planet Earth DVD (Cost: $37): I might have been one of the very few people who saw Planet Earth in theatres. Seeing it on the big screen was a real treat but let me say that Mother Earth shines in big and small ways. The documentary follows three (non-human) families on a breathtaking and fascinating adventure.

Leave a Comment

