The way I am

 Thank Moo Postcards

It’s is officially the autumn solstice and I am just tickled. Fall is so exquisite. I must admit I am over the moon about the cooler weather. Yesterday it was rainy and cool so I dug through the closet for my knee-high black boots and wore those with jeans and my mom’s short black Zara coat.

Not everything went as smoothly yesterday as my wardrobe selection. There was a power outage between 11:30am and 3:00pm in the north-end of the city. So we were trapped in the house – no electricy = no way to get the car out of the garage. It was a bit of a bummer since we had two appointments to make – one of which had to get rescheduled. Oh well. Instead, I did a bit of work. Hard to do since there was no internet either. Hmmm this makes me think I could never survive Thoreau’s Walden Pond.

Anyway, by the end of the day everything got sorted and I was even able to watch a movie. Grey Gardens. Fascinating. Such characters the Edith Beales were. Genuine joie de vivre. Incredibly sad too. I am not sure how I would have fared as a woman in the earlier part of the 20th century. Under my husband’s thumb or the prospect of it – a very Jane Austen reality. Yuck. I could totally see how their black-sheep ways devolved into the eccentricities that later left them living in the worst conditions and a bit looney. See the movie. You will understand.

A bit of fun mail arrived yesterday which I can’t wait to get out the doors. Woo hoo moo. My moo postcards arrived. Thank you notes to all of those who participated and/or donated to Project Tanzania 2009. (Sorry for the awful photo. All of the cameras have disappeared!) Expect to receive yours in the mail within the next week.

Finally, today’s soundtrack is brought to you by Ingrid Michaelson. Love LOVE her song – The Way I Am. It’s going to find its way onto my iPod and into the wedding slideshow…somewhere. 🙂 Enjoy. Happy Autumn Solstice!

Leave a Comment

