Animal love

Zebra Love

(Photo via Flickr)

Ok. So I have lost track of where I am with my blog posts. But I do have some fun things to share. First those beautiful zebras above are incredible  specimens of African wildlife. Animals and animal symbolism keep cropping up everywhere.

I just finished the book Life of Pi. So brilliant. Totally enthralling. The book is filled with lore. But what was most fascinating were the truly useful things I learned from it. I know a lot more about seafaring – particularly, if one finds oneself adrift…in a lifeboat…with a 450 lbs Royal Bengal tiger.

Beyond the lore, zookeeping and castaway tips, there are some incredibly poignant moments in the book. This one below comes from an early chapter in the book but it remains one of my favourites.

“Father and I find your religious zeal a bit of a mystery.”

“It is a Mystery.”

“Hmmm. I don’t mean it that way. Listen, my darling, if you’re going to be religious, you must be either a Hindu, a Christian or a Muslim….”

“I don’t see why I can’t be all three. Mamaji has two passports. He’s Indian and French. Why can’t I be a Hindu, a Christian and a Muslim?”

“That’s different. France and India are nations on earth.”

“How many nations are there in the sky?”

She thought for a second. “One. That’s the point. One nation, one passport.”

“One nation in the sky?”

“Yes. Or none. There’s that option too, you know. These are terribly old-fashioned things you’ve taken to.”

“If there’s only one nation in the sky, shouldn’t all passports be valid for it?”

Then I came across this little gem. It is part of the LStudio’s web offerings and is called Puppy Love. Prepare yourself. It is ridiculously adorable.

 That’s all the animal love for today. It is hot. Hot. Hot. Time to get outside for some fresh air. And then off to start my next book: Boys Adrift.

Leave a Comment

