Sangria

003

Yesterday’s recap: My plans for planting stopped short when I couldn’t find any planters that I liked. So until I find something that isn’t obscene in price or appearance, there will be no planting. I decided instead to make a nice summer dinner. The weather was enticingly warm and I was craving something refreshing. I made a sweet tasting sangria with a prized bottle of red wine my parents brought back for us from the Algarve (Portugal) last year.

021

The last time I had sangria was in Spain. Mike and I spent the day in Madrid on the way to Gibraltar via Algeciras. We stopped at this amazing plaza (the Puerta Del Sol Plaza Mayor, to be exact) and I finally got to drink sangria and eat paella (i.e. authentic spanish food instead of the usual spaghetti with tomato sauce which Mike requests that we eat wherever we go).

Onion Tart

So for dinner last night, I also made a Carmelized Onion Tart (pictured top left) and Warm Potato Salad Primavera (pictured bottom right) as a change of pace from our usual pasta dishes. The recipes and photo above are from the May/June 2009 issue of Vegetarian Times.

Back to today:  I had a lovely early morning coffee date with my friend Donna before she took off to the cottage for 10 days. It was great to see her and catch up. She always has nice things to say and was so sweet to tell me how great I look! Don’t I love her!

After wrapping up some key work items, I am off to meet up with my mentee, Olga. I am mentoring her as part of the Host a Newcomer program through Woodgreen Community Services. We met on Tuesday morning for the first time and are now gearing up for a month of weekly get-togethers. I am really looking forward to learning more about her family, interests and aspirations. Olga is an artist of sorts and I am hoping that somewhere down the road she will participate in my little Heart2Heart project.

Leave a Comment

