Yoga-riffic

standing-twist1

(Photo via Whole Living)

Recap: Grocery shopping. Birthday partying. Training. Baking. Working. Calling. Laundry. Emailing. Meeting. Yogaing. That’s basically what I have been up over the last 48 hours.

Yesterday afternoon ROCKED. I had a really energizing meeting at TIG. Then I walked my little self down to the Moksha Studio on Wellington for a HOT flow class. I usually go for the regular moksha class so this was a bit of a change. I didn’t know what the hell I was doing for the first 5 minutes but eventually I got the FLOW part. There is this amazing moment I experience at the end of the class when I am in corpse pose – totally drenched – and a simultaneous wave of total exhaustion and total exhiliration comes over me. I wish I could bottle that feeling.

Before class, folks were chit-chatting in the lounge and a story surfaced – in a long-difficult-to-trace-back-kind-of-way. At any rate, someone was talking about Brad Lamb and how he is such a big shot who owns a rolls royce. This then illicited a comment from one of the teachers who said that Bikram (who started the discipline of hot yoga) owns 12 rolls royces – one in every colour. I didn’t get it. Why? I mean its one thing if you are a car collector but usually car collectors have a variety of cars. So is it about status? If so, that seems contrary to the whole yoga philosophy but who am I to talk. I am no yogini.

Today: I know the day is almost over but I still have so much work to do it’s not even funny. I have two workplans to get off my plate along with some mail to get out the door. I have two internal deadlines to meet this week. Plus Winnipeg Parent has invited another submission from the Children’s Health & Environment Partnership so I need to start writing. Never a dull moment.

The greatest news is the WEEKEND – which I am already lusting after. The Storytelling Festival is on and I will be attending for the first time. Serena Ryder is performing at Queen Elizabeth Theatre on Saturday evening and I GOT TICKETS! And then Sunday, Sanela and Brian are coming into Toronto from Hamilton again. If all goes well, we will be rock climbing at Joe Rockheads. Wicked!

One thought on “Yoga-riffic

Leave a Comment

