NY

 st-patricks-day

Tuesday’s recap: Wicked stuff keeps happening around here. Yesterday was fantastic – good vibes. But before I get to that, let me back-track to Tuesday. St. Patrick’s Day. I got in the spirit of things. For some, I know that means starting to drink earlier than usual. For me, it means wearing green.

012

The weather was such a TEASE. Gorgeous sun. But cool breeze. I struggled with whether I should wear my boots and winter coat or just my winter coat or just my boots. Eventually, I figured it out. I pulled out my beautiful kelly-green scarf – that gives me goosebumps every time I look at it (don’t know why. It just does!) – and set off for a meeting at TIG with Jen and Nick.

I am helping them to develop a “sponsorship” package and pitch. I use quotations because TIG’s ethos is really about changing the world (as opposed to selling stuff) and this campaign that I am designing for them to roll out is really about finding those corporate entities who reflect the values and ethics of TIG’s members. This is their opportunity to grow a consumer base of young and highly influential GEN Yers by demonstrating how they, as a company or organization, are changing the world for the better. Pretty great right? By the time all is said and done, I will probably have worked with 80% of the TIG staff including the executive team, tech guys, designers, and project leaders. It is going to be so AWESOME.

When I got home, I picked up the mail and in it was a much-anticipated wedding invitation. (Nope. Not mine.)

007

It is a wedding that – after three years – will take me back to New York to reunite with a dear friend – Kristen. She is a real treasure. And despite the little contact we have had since I left NY in 2006, we are just as crazy about our friendship today as we were when we first began. The very top photo was taken at a St.Patrick’s Day celebration (in September…law students do weird stuff) only a short month after I moved my studies, home and life to NY.

Kristen’s family adopted me. Her mom would give me little gifts for Halloween and Christmas. They generously invited me to – what would turn out to be – my very first American thanksgiving gathering with their huge Irish family. If I were to take stock of all the moments I experienced during my time south of the border, the highlights are all with Kristen.

kristen-kristle

This is the last memory I have with Kristen. And Joe – who, in my mind, will always remain the quintessential New Yorker. Yankees fan. Big-time cusser. Tough on the outside and gooey on the inside. I don’t recall the exact day this photo was taken but I do know I left NY a matter of days later. I haven’t been back since. Of course, that will change as of May long weekend. I can’t wait!

One thought on “NY

  1. Pingback: Citrouile « Prairie Girl by Day

Leave a Comment

