Carpe diem

alternativegroundscoffeeshop

(Photo via Toronto Found Locally)

Yesterday’s recap: So I went to see the movie One Week last night. Mike and I opted for the VIP experience at Varsity Cinemas and happened to be sitting with Ed Robertsonof the Barenaked Ladies. Is it worth the four extra bucks? No but you should do it at least once.

The movie along with the book I am reading – Night Train to Lisbon – has really got me thinking about all the things I have accomplished on my Life List and all of those things left to do. I am constantly tormented by the words of Thomas Jefferson:  Never put off til tomorrow what you can do today. Ah yes. So true. But if you were to look at my  various lists, you would know it is impossible to do it all today. At least I don’t know how to do it. I do know that I don’t want to be one of those people – at any point in my life – who says: “I just didn’t get the chance to do all I wanted to do.” I simply can’t be one of those people who says: “I never got to be the person I dreamed of becoming.” So maybe the reality is you can’t do everything at once but you can plant seeds. And make wishes. And set plans in motion. I say you try for today but remember, there is always tomorrow

run-with-porter

There are a few opportunities that cropped up this week I simply had to jump on. I got a call from a lovely woman named Tannis who is coordinating an eco-conscious, nature-inspired 5k run to honour the memory of her little boy. The event is called Run with Porter and aims to fundraise for The Sunshine Foundation which supports underprivileged kids to experience summer and outdoor camps. The event will feature an organic breakfast and a sunrise yoga (AWESOME!) before the run which takes place at Bird’s Hill Park. Tannis was really excited by my enthuasiasm to support her wonderful initiative. I was inspired by her story and message. As part of iNSPiRED PRACTiCE’s contribution to the event, I have pledged to assist Tannis and her team in realizing their vision of an eco-friendly event. I put her in touch with my printer – who over the years has met every request of mine to source the best 100% Post Consumer recycled paper and print with vegetable-based inks. (Leslie is fantastic!) I also want to get a team together – Team iNSPiRED PRACTiCE – to participate in the run. I am already scheming about who to bring on board. 🙂

The other beautiful opportunity that cropped up this week was FINALLY enroling in a week-long intensive French course at College Universitaire de Saint-Boniface. I have tried twice before and either am out of town or the course gets cancelled. Hopefully third time’s the charm!

Back to today: I had a spontaneous get-together with my friend Sergio. He came to Roncesvalles Village and we lunched at Alternative Grounds. We are cooking up a great little project for novice entrepreneurs – largely those who are participating in enterprise development or self-employment programs. It is going to be great – and truly unlike anything else out there. I am so excited about it!

I had originally planned to head off to an event later this evening. One I think would be very insightful and fun. However, I feel compelled to brace the cold weather for some warmth in a 90-minute Moksha yoga class. I feel like I need it. And I think my body needs it too.

So I am off – to seize the day!

One thought on “Carpe diem

Leave a Comment

